Testing & Evaluation

  • State-Mandated Testing Program 

    Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP)

    The State Department of Education has developed and continues to refine a system of tests that measure and provide data for reporting of student progress. All required standardized tests administered in the public schools of Tennessee are part of the TCAP.

    Since Tennessee is an English-only state, tests are not offered in a native language format.  Exact testing dates for each assessment can be found on the SDE website: https://www.tn.gov/education/assessment/testing-dates.html


    TCAP Achievement Tests

    These tests are administered annually in the spring to students in grades 3-8. During the 2014-2015 school year, the TCAP will assess student work in the areas of Reading, Language Arts, Math, and Science.

    In Morgan County, the Board has decided that students in grades K-2 will also be tested on their achievement using the SAT 10. While not a part of TCAP, the data collected in these early grades is used locally to plan for instruction, to plan for professional and support training, and to identify students who need early intervention or program adjustment.

    Scores from the Achievement Test will count as 15% of the second semester grade in the tested subjects.


    End of Course (EOC) Tests

    In the new High School Transition Policy, the State Board stipulated that End of Course examinations will be given in English I, English II, English III, Algebra I, Algebra II, Biology, and Chemistry. The results of these examinations will be factored into the student’s grade.

    • The End of Course exam grade will count 25 percent (25%) of the second semester.
    • Students are not required to pass any one examination, but instead students must achieve a passing score for the course.

    TCAP End of Course (EOC) US History Field Test

    During the 2014-2015 school year, students will take the End of Course US History field test.  This field test will not count toward students' grades, but feedback and results from the field test will help design a strong and rigorous assessment to measure learning in social studies. 

    Writing Assessment

    All students in grades 3 thru 11 will take the online Writing Assessment.  Students will be given a reading selection and then a prompt that they are required to read before they begin to write. A reading stimulus can be a work of fiction or an informational piece. Speeches, poems, charts,graphs, letters, legal decisions, or timelines may also be considered as a reading stimulus. The prompt will appear in a text box at the end of the reading stimulus. The students will have to utilize information from the reading stimulus to write their response. The new prompts have a new time limit of one hour. 


    ACT Battery of Tests (ACT, Plan, Explore)

    Students in 8th grade take the Explore test from ACT, and students in 10th grade take the Plan test.  The "traditional" ACT test is administered during the school day in the spring of each year to students in grade 11. Additional opportunities are available on Saturdays in various locations to allow students to retake the test several times so that the student can earn the best score possible.

    The Explore test (for 8th graders) tests English, Math, Reading, and Science and is designed to gauge college readiness for individual students.  The test is 2 hours in length.   Sophomores in high school (10th graders) take the Plan test.  This test assesses English and Math and is 70 minutes in length.  It is designed to gauge individual college readiness.  Both the Explore and the Plan assessments are administered during the school day in November.

     The ACT, taken by all juniors in high school (11th graders), assesses English, math, reading, science, and writing.  These tests are used to measure college readiness and HOPE scholarship eligibility.  All TN juniors receive one free voucher for either the ACT or the SAT from their school counselor.  

    Morgan County Testing Program

    Dynamic Indicators of Basic Early Literacy Skills (DIBELS)

    DIBELS is a standardized, individually administered measure of early literacy development that is given 3 times (Benchmark Periods)  to students in grades K thru 6 throughout the academic year. Progress monitoring is used between DIBELS testing times to ensure interventions are working.

    It is a screening measure but can clearly point to possible roadblocks for literacy development.

    These are the skills identified by DIBELS Next as essential for beginning readers to master:

    1. Phonemic Awareness (Identification and manipulation of parts of words)
    2. Alphabetic Principle
    3. Accuracy and Fluency
    4. Vocabulary
    5. Comprehension
    Discovery Ed Assessment (formerly ThinkLink)
    • Discovery Ed measures basic reading and math, and provides predictive benchmark results to predict how well students will do on the state assessments that are administered each spring.  There are three testing windows each school year and students in grades K thru 8 take the Discovery Ed assessments, which last for 1 hour per subject.   
    • High school students who are enrolled in any EOC subject will be assessed with a Discovery Ed or ThinkLink test.  Specifically, these EOC subject include:  Algebra I, II; English I, II, III; Biology; and US History.  There are three testing windows during the semester for students to take these benchmark exams.  The results of these tests provide results that help to predict how well students will do on state assessments.


     i-Ready K-8 Universal Screening Test

    To meet TDOE requirements related to RTI, all students in grades K-8 take a series of assessments during three testing windows.  The test is designed to identify student weaknesses and to also determine if a student needs to be place in either Tier II or Tier III of the state mandated RTI program.  The testing windows take place close to the start of the school year, the end of the first semester, and toward the end of the second semester.  Students and teachers receive immediate feedback and can design their instructional content based upon the results.

    K-2 Assessment (also called SAT10)
    The K-2 assessment measures basic reading and math knowledge and provides a benchmark of how young students perform on foundational skills that are required for success in future grades.  Students in 1st and 2nd grade are tested on reading, math, and language.  Kindergarten students are tested on reading, math, and listening.  The K-2 assessment is administered each spring in conjunction with the TCAP Achievement test.
Last Modified on July 30, 2018