MCS School Board » MCS School Board

MCS School Board

The Morgan County School Board of Education is a policy-making legislative body of which the individual member is an official of the state. Except during an official meeting, a board member has no more power, authority, or jurisdiction over school matters than any other citizen in the community. A school board's primary duty is to provide the opportunity for the best and most appropriate education for all children entrusted to its care. The office calls for the highest character and a dedicated interest in the welfare of all children, youth, and adults in the community. To be a school board member is to serve the future of your community, state, nation, and world.

The School Board manages and controls all public schools within Morgan County. It sets salaries, grants tenure, and approves evaluation plans for employees. It purchases supplies, furniture, fixtures, and materials of every kind and approves an annual budget for Morgan County Schools. Also, it compiles and publishes an official policy manual.

The Morgan County School Board consists of six elected members. Each member fulfills a four year term. To be a member, one must:

  • be a citizen of Tennessee
  • be a registered voter in Morgan County
  • reside in the district for which they will represent
  • have a high school diploma or GED
  • be at least 18 years old
  • be approved by the election commission of Morgan County by filing a petition signed by at least 25 qualified voters of their school district
  • not be a member of the county legislative body or other county office

Every two years, three of the six districts hold popular, non-partisan elections for their school board position.